BC Named IWLCA Honor Squad; Four Tornados Earn Honor Roll

BC Named IWLCA Honor Squad; Four Tornados Earn Honor Roll

BREVARD, N.C. – For the second straight season, the Brevard College Women's Lacrosse team has been named an IWLCA (Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association) Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad.  In addition, four BC Women's Lacrosse student-athletes – Hunter Denney, Diana Loaiza, Cameron Ranslow and Micaiah Vacchiano  – have been named to the IWLCA Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll.

Brevard College was one of 312 schools across Division I, II, III and NAIA to be honored as an Academic Honor Squad by the IWLCA.  To qualify for this prestigious honor, teams must have posted a 3.0 or higher team GPA for the academic year.

The four Tornados who earned a place on the Division III Academic Honor Roll were among 630 student-athletes from 166 different institutions.  To be eligible for the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes had to be a junior, senior or graduate student and earn a cumulative academic GPA of 3.50 or higher.

Denney, a graduating senior with a major in Health Science Studies, earned the IWLCA Honor Roll distinction for the second straight season.  Loaiza (Major: Exercise Science), Ranslow (English) and Vacchiano (Health Science Studies) each earned their place on the honor roll after completing their junior years in 2018-19.

For more information on the IWLCA and to view the complete lists of the 2018-19 IWLCA academic awards, go to www.iwlca.org.

To follow the latest news and updates surrounding Brevard College Athletics, follow the Tornados on Twitter and Instagram @bctornados, subscribe to 'Brevard College Tornados'' on YouTube, follow 'Brevard College Tornados' on SoundCloud, or like Brevard College Athletics on Facebook.