Brevard College Climbing Competes in Cullowhee; Next Up: Brevard Boulder Bash

Brevard College Climbing Competes in Cullowhee; Next Up: Brevard Boulder Bash
Phil de Montmollin: Sports Information Director

CULLOWHEE, N.C. - The Brevard College Climbing team continued its 2019 Spring competition schedule with a trip to nearby Cullowhee, N.C. for a USA Climbing Collegiate Local Competition on Saturday hosted by Western Carolina University. 

Madison Altman was the top-finishing Tornado with a sixth-place finish in the women's competition after accumulating 13,400 points.  Altman completed three of her five climbs in one attempt while completing her other two climbs in two attempts.

Brevard College's Danielle Brown placed 19th on the women's side with 5,800 total points. 

A total of 32 climbers competed in the women's event. Bimini Horstmann of Davidson won the women's competition with 18,200 points. 

In the men's competition, Jake Roberts was the top finishing Brevard College climber with a 13th Place result after totaling 14,000 points. Roberts successfully completed four of his five attempts on the afternoon.

The next highest finishing Tornados were Carlton Angell and Mac Fitzgerald.  Angell finished in 20th place with an 11,900 point total while Fitzgerald was just behind with a 22nd place result with 10,800 points.

Samuel Willis (30th, 7,800 pts) and Taylor Everard (31st, 7,200 pts) also placed for Brevard College.

Luke Muehring (17,200 points) of Georgia Tech won the men's competition which featured 39 climbers.

In addition to Brevard College, schools represented at the local competition included Appalachian State, Davidson, Georgia Tech, Lees-McRae, Liberty, Wake Forest, and host Western Carolina. 

The Brevard College Climbing team will be back in action this coming Saturday, February 23 when the program hosts the third annual Brevard Boulder Bash.  The event, which will take place at the Brevard Rock Gym, will serve as a USA Climbing Appalachian Region Collegiate Competition. Registration starts at 1 p.m. with competition getting underway at 2 p.m. The event is free for spectators.